Chapter 4

Screenshot-1 ~A.N~ The last chapter was a lot shorter than first intended so this chapter is going to be a little longer to make up for it. 🙂 Enjoy!Mature-Content-Logo ~Karly’s P.O.V~Screenshot-67  Today is an exciting day, hopefully. I am officially 6 months pregnant even though I look and feel like I am about to pop. I finished my physical therapy last week and I am now able to walk on my own! Screenshot-68  Believe me, I have been taking every chance I can to move around. I still get worn out pretty easy, though. Which is why I think Miguel is so protective of me. Everytime I need something from the store, he jumps at the chance to get it. I’ve hardly left this house in the last 2 months. But Miguel is so good to me. He is just as excited about the baby as I am. Screenshot-69  He is constantly coming up to me and feeling the baby kick, or rubbing my belly. I knew we were both going to be good parents. Screenshot-70  “Whose Daddy’s little star? Baby-waby! That’s who!” I couldn’t help it, I burst into a fit of giggles at the sight of my handsome, rugged man talking in a baby voice. He chuckled sheepishly and we shared a long kiss. I cupped his face, “I am going to enjoy this beautiful day and take a walk.” Screenshot-71 He stopped me right outside the front door, “Wait, let me come with you.” I smiled at his concern, “Thank you, Honey, but you have a busy day of work ahead of you. I have my cell with me if I run into any trouble.” He kissed my forehead, “Okay, mi amor, just please be careful.”Screenshot-73 I gave him a big hug, “We’ll be fine.” I winked at him and set off in the direction of the park. The spring air was so refreshing and I didn’t realize how much I missed the feeling of the breeze playing with my hair. I came to the park way too quickly, and I was already pretty worn out, but I would never admit to Miguel. He was just so concerned for me. In the midst of these thoughts, I was interrupted by a young girl coming up to me, screaming and hollering. Screenshot-89 She didn’t even give me a chance to greet her before she started talking furiously to me, “How dare you come here and show-off you relationship with him.” She had been gesturing to my stomach the whole time she was talking.Screenshot-90 “You realize you’re the reason he left my mother? You were our maid! He left us for the maid!”Screenshot-91 She sighed bitterly, “You have no idea what it’s like to find yourself with a father one day and without one the next. And when your mother won’t say a word about it, you have to hear it from one of those stupid tabloid magazines.”Screenshot-92 I took a step back and tried my best not to yell at her, “Listen, what did you say your name was? Oh right, you didn’t tell me your name. I understand that you’re frustrated, but I didn’t steal anyone from anybody.”  Screenshot-95 I realize by the time I finished saying all this that I had been yelling, “I’m sorry. I am just not used to random strangers coming up to me, and starting a fight.” The young girl looks at me curiously, “You mean you don’t know me, and have never seen me before?” I shook my head slowly, and the girl looks down at her feet, “So you aren’t dating my father, Miguel Drake.” My body stiffened as she said those last words, I tried to rack my brain for an explanation but none would come, “Look I am still recovering from a pretty serious injury and about two months ago I awoke from a 2 month-long coma, I could remember anything that had happened in the last two months, so it is possible that I have met you, but I don’t remember much.” She looked at me, “I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have just come and yelled like that, but I really needed to get it off of my chest.” I chuckled nervously, “Haha well, better me than the actual woman who did that to you.” She nodded and we parted ways, I left more confused than ever before.

I made my way back home, and prepared to confront the father of my child. Screenshot-75 Unfortunately, it was a few hours before Miguel came home. Plenty of time for pacing and fuming. I heard the front door open and I came out to the living room to greet Miguel. Before I could even think to filter my words I blurt out, “How could you not tell me that you were married when we met, and you have a daughter, who I ran into at the park by the way.” I began to move around agitatedly, but I tried to calm so as not to upset the baby.  Screenshot-77 I moved my hand protectively in front of the little peanut before saying, “Well, Miguel, I’m waiting! Do you have an explanation or not?Screenshot-76 He turned his towards me and I could literally feel all the shame and sadness he held in them, “I’m sorry, Karly, I never meant to hurt you. I just didn’t want that to be your first ‘memory’ of me. I love you and our child mi amor.” Screenshot-74 I struggled between feeling sad and angry with him, “Miguel, you lied to me. You said you divorced your wife and she got the house, but the truth is she kicked you out and the papers aren’t even final yet, right? “Screenshot-80 I started to cry at this point, “I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to trust you again until my memory comes back.” He tried to put his arms around me to console me but I pushed him away. Screenshot-85  The anger made his normally dark eyes burn a bright light brown, “Oh, it’s all my fault, huh? I was married when we first me, yes. We both made a conscious decision to be together during the time I was married, okay? It’s not something I’m proud of, but it’s not just my fault.” He began to speak in spanish more to himself than me, when his gaze swung back around to me, angrily he pointed a finger at me, “You! You’re the one dumb enough to get pregnant. You said you were on the pill.”Screenshot-81 HIs words pierced me like darts, “I’m sorry, Miguel. I wish I could remember everything so I wouldn’t be so confused all of the time, okay? To my knowledge, I wasn’t on the pill when I left Moonlight Falls, but I think that is besides the point because here we are, six months pregnant. I thought you were happy that I was pregnant? Was that a lie too?” I broke down sobbing harsh, loud sobs.  Screenshot-79 HIs eyes softened and he came to put his arms around me. This time, I didn’t push him away. “Shhh shhh, mi amor. The past is in the past. From now on, I will not lie to you anymore. I just never wanted you to be upest with me.”Screenshot-86  Before I could open my mouth to speak, he put his fingers on my lips and took me into his arms, I didn’t feel like we had resolved anything, but I couldn’t stand the arguing. MIguel began to speak again, “I want to be honest with you. I haven’t seen my kids in two months. I have a 15 year old daughter and twin 7 year old boys. My wife and I filed for divorce a week after you were in the hospital.” He kissed my forehead softly.  Screenshot-87  “My wife and I may not have been able to make it work, but you and I? It’s for life, mi amor. Our baby is going to be so loved, and you will be so well taken care of. Mi amor, come with me. We can travel the world, just the three of us.” I looked up at him to see tears in his eyes. I reached up and wiped his cheek with my thumb, “I’m in if you are. But can we wait until Peanut here is at least a year old before we become world travelers?” Miguel laughed as we kissed once more. “Well today has worn me out thoroughly, I’m gonna take a nap before dinner.” Miguel nodded and said, “Don’t worry about dinner, love. I’ve got it all under control.”Screenshot-88I lay on the couch and tried to push all stressful thoughts of the fight from my mind, “Don’t worry, Peanut,” as I often referred to the baby these days,”Everything’s gonna be okay.” With a yawn I drifted off into a deep sleep.

Nightmare

“I thought I told you to be quiet?” Miguel chuckled evilly as Karly’s eyes bulged and she gasped for air. He released his hold from her throat and she tried to sit up. Without thinking, he knocked his fist against her jaw. Her head hit the floor, and she shook her head a little but before she could say anything, his hand was on her throat again, crushing her windpipe. He watched with delight until her eyes rolled back into her head. “Karly! Karly! Oh man, baby, I didn’t mean it. I didn’t mean it. He began to move around the room pulling both of their clothes on before he rushed her to the hospital. 

I sat up with a start as I realized what I had just dreamed of. I glanced around the room nervously, before deciding what I needed to do. If I was going to be a good mother, then we had to get out here.

 

8 thoughts on “Chapter 4

  1. I’m so happy Karly’s remembered enough to know she should get away from him. She’s right, this is exactly what a good mother would do and I’m proud of her for not hesitating to make the decision to leave.
    Now, as much as I HATE to admit it, Miguel is right. He didn’t lie about being married so the whole affair wasn’t entirely his fault, and if she really wasn’t on the pill she shouldn’t have lied – the jury’s still out on that one. But now Karly knows not to get involved with married men in the future…and I sincerely hope that if the next guy has kids she won’t be okay with him basically abandoning them just to be with her.
    I can’t wait to see what drama unfolds next.

    Atlas

    Liked by 1 person

      • LOL, I always knew in the back of my head that Karly was a willing participant in all of this. It’s just really hard to remember that when he’s, you know, slapping her around and choking her out.
        Don’t get too used to me agreeing with him though, it won’t be happening very often at all. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah. At first I wasn’t going to make him violent, but without it I think the story would be really boring. I kinda forgot how emotionally invested you can get with each sim. haha

        Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! I love getting feedback from new readers, so don’t be afraid to be brutally honest! While you’re waiting for another chapter, you can read the prequel to this story, One Step At A Time. I’ll leave the link for you, but don’t feel any pressure. I’m happy you like this story so far. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment